The Benedictine Confederation

The Benedictine Confederation is the body into which the Benedictine Congregations and monasteries of the Catholic Church are gathered. It was established in 1893 by Pope Leo XIII with his brief Summum Semper.


The Congregations of monks are the ordinary members of the Benedictine Confederation. A few single monasteries that for particular reasons have remained outside a Congregation have been admitted as extraordinary members.

Monasteries and Institutes of Benedictine Women are associated with the Benedictine Confederation and constitute the Communio Internationalis Benedictinarum (CIB).

Abbot Primate

The Abbot Primate is the head of the Benedictine Confederation. He is elected by the Congress of Abbots.

Abbot Primate Gregory Polan OSB
born in January 1950
prof. 28 August 1971
ord. 26 May 1977
elected Abbot of Conception Abbey 6 November 1996; blessed 9 December 1996
elected Abbot Primate and Abbot of Sant’Anselmo, 10 September 2016

Curia Abbatis Primatis (General Secretariat)
Tel: +39 06 5791.267;
Fax: +39 06 5791.374

OSB Events

Curia quick contact list

Abbot Primate Rmus P. Gregory Polan, OSB
+39 06 5791 267
Procurator General P. Mauritius Wilde OSB
+39 06 5791 252
Secretary to the Abbot Primate Sig. Walter del Gaiso
+39 06 5791 319
Treasurer P. Geraldo Gonzalez y Lima OSB
+39 06 5791 336
Archivist P. Edmund Power OSB +39 06 5791 266